Endrendrum Punnagai (aka) Endrendrum Punnagai songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Oct 24,2013
1 of 2
Production: Dr Ramadoss, GKM Tamil Kumaran
Cast: Andrea Jeremiah, Jiiva, Trisha Krishnan, Vinay Rai
Direction: I.Ahmed
Screenplay: I.Ahmed
Story: I.Ahmed
Background score: Harris Jayaraj
Cinematography: R Madhi
Dialogues: I.Ahmed
Editing: Praveen K. L
Singers: Aalap Raju, Abhay Jodhpurkar, Bhargavi, Devan Ekambaram, Haricharan, Hariharan, Harini, Karthik, Krish, Krishna Iyer, MK Balaji , Naresh Iyer, Pravin Saivi, Ramesh Vinayakam, Shreya Ghoshal, Sudha Ragunathan, Suzanne, Tippu, Velmurugan
Lyrics : Kabilan, Madhan Karky, Thamarai, Vaalee, Viveka
PRO: Nikhil Murugan

Director of Vamanan, I.Ahmed, returns with a multistarrer rom-com featuring Jiiva, Trisha, Vinay, Andrea and Santhanam among others. Music is by Harris Jayaraj.

Yealae Yealae Dosthu Da
Singers: Krish, Krishna Iyer, Naresh Iyer
Lyrics: Viveka

A fun energetic song with familiar Harris treatment. Viveka’s words are replete with words on friendship. Krish and Naresh Iyer’s young voices suit the theme well. While the beat can get your foot tapping and the sounds of accordion could cheer you up, one wishes the melody could have been more attractive.

Ennai Saaithaalae
Singers: Hariharan, Shreya Ghoshal
Lyrics: Thamarai

A gentle melody follows suit, and again the treatment is well within Harris’s own domain. The soft piano playing and the saxophone segments set up the tune without much fuss but the composition assumes a different complexion as it progresses, with the introduction of the backbeat and the momentary veena. The melody is pretty and accessible but falls short of the composer’s own potential of churning out memorable duets. Hariharan is the one with the major chunk of the melodies and he gives it his own touches and Shreya Ghoshal is her usual competent self.

Kadal Naan Thaan
Singers: MK Balaji , Sudha Ragunathan, Suzanne
Lyrics: Vaalee

Harris employs the services of ace carnatic singer Sudha Ragunathan for a tune which is a far cry from the singer’s usual musical indulgences.  The opening few moments feel like they are sitting in the shade before some light and color is thrown into the proceedings with nifty hooks that Harris uses at points when the song demands a spring in its step. The song progresses along with the strength of the singer’s performance.

Vaan Engum Nee Minna
Singers: Aalap Raju, Devan Ekambaram, Harini, Pravin Saivi
Lyrics: Madhan Karky

Harris comes up with a rather sweet pop tune here featuring the likes of Aalap Raju, Harini, Devan & Pravin Saivi. Harini’s performances are laced with carnatic intonations while Aalap Raju is his usual peppy self. The track is lively and parts of it are catchy.

Singers: Abhay Jodhpurkar, Bhargavi, Tippu
Lyrics: Kabilan

An emotional tune which has some impressive vocal performances – Abhay Jodhpurkar handling the mid & low registers with nice control and Tippu chipping in during the high pitched segments and adding a bit of drama to the song.  The lyrics talk about the strains and cracks that emerge in friendship and Kabilan pens some nice lines here.

Ennatha Solla
Singers: Haricharan, Karthik, Ramesh Vinayakam, Velmurugan
Lyrics: Viveka

An electro-folk hybrid styled tune designed to elaborate on the usual perils of falling in love and marriage and all that. There is likely to be no surprise if the mood is fueled by alcohol and the theme as such has little new to offer except for the regular chuckles that songs like this  can extract from the listener. While the melody may not be an ‘Anjala’, there are still some memorable moments.

Verdict: Overall a pleasant album with typical Harris Jayaraj templates.
( 3.0 / 5.0 )


Endrendrum Punnagai (aka) Endrendrum Punnagai

Endrendrum Punnagai (aka) Endrendrum Punnagai is a Tamil movie with production by Dr Ramadoss, GKM Tamil Kumaran, direction by I.Ahmed, cinematography by R Madhi, editing by Praveen K. L. The cast of Endrendrum Punnagai (aka) Endrendrum Punnagai includes Andrea Jeremiah, Jiiva, Trisha Krishnan, Vinay Rai.