Vaayai Moodi Pesavum (aka) Vaaiyai Moodi Pesavum songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Mar 14,2014
1 of 2
Production: S Sashikanth, Varun Manian
Cast: Dulquer Salman, Nazriya Nazim
Direction: Balaji Mohan
Screenplay: Balaji Mohan
Story: Balaji Mohan
Music: Sean Roldan
Background score: Sean Roldan
Cinematography: Soundararajan
Dialogues: Balaji Mohan
Editing: Abhinav Sunder Nayak
Art direction: A R Mohan
Dance choreography: Gayathri Raghuram, Phargav Sekar
Lyrics: Balaji Mohan, Madhan Karky, Muthamil
PRO: Nikkil

Vaayai Moodi Pesavum is a Tamil-Malayalam bilingual directed by Balaji Mohan and starring Dulquer Salman and Nazriya Nazim. Music is by Sean Roldan who makes his debut in film music with this album.

Shut Up! Vaaya Moodu! Pesadhe!
Singers: Balaji Mohan, Sean Roldan
Lyrics: Balaji Mohan

The album begins with a track housing a funky feel and a foot tapping rhythm carrying a tinge of comic flavor and wit. The popular Tamil film dialogues at timely appearances add to the value of the track and the vocalists do a great job in making it an entertaining listen.

Kadhal Ara Onnu Vizundhuchu
Singers: Sean Roldan, Shakthisree Gopalan
Lyrics: Muthamil

Up next is a rock track well equipped with energetic singing by Sean Roldan and Shaktishree Gopalan. The power packed electric guitars are the lifeline of the track which features fantastic rhythm patterns. The bass work is exceptionally good and it is great to see Shaktishree Gopalan sing a peppy number. The guitar solo in the interlude is one of the highlights of this track.

Mr.Fix-It Theme
Singers: Instrumental

A refreshingly breezy instrumental arrives next with brilliant string sections and impactful violin by Chennai Strings. The presence of pan flute in between makes it even more enjoyable. The way in which the track launches itself to symphony mode is commendable. 

Podhum Ini Nee Varundhadhe
Singers: Haricharan
Lyrics: Muthamil

The peppiness continues with a groovy track, featuring the soul of Mr.Fix-it, but laden with a fresh sounding guitar tone and Haricharan’s soothing voice. The track has a beautiful nostalgic feel blended with modern orchestration and a laid back chorus. The strings and harmonica blend wonderfully throughout the track thereby strengthening the nostalgic essence. 

Udaigiren Udaigiren
Singers: Aalaap Raju
Lyrics: Madan Karky

A short track with mellifluous voice of Aalap Raju welcomes the listener next. The orchestration is quite laid back with mellowed strings which follow the lead quite gracefully. The lilting guitar makes sure that its presence is felt. A great guitar solo which arrives in the interlude is sheer beauty. 

Beedhiya Kelappa - Jazz Theme
Singers: Instrumental

An interesting take on modern jazz with energetic percussions and lilting saxophone makes for a breezy listen despite the track carrying an air of tension. It is a challenge to include a full fledged jazz instrumental of international standards for a Tamil film album and the composer has to be commended for it.  

The Sound of Silence - Dubstep Symphony
Singers: Instrumental

After a journey to a jazzy world, it is time to explore Western Classical Music with an eerie instrumental equipped with doses of electronic orchestration and string sections. The eeriness can be heard throughout its progress in the midst of a collage of techno sounds and rhythm sections. 

Maatraparavai - The Song Bird of Change
Singers: Kalyani Nair, Pradeep
Lyrics: Madan Karky

The album enters its finale with a feel good track sung confidently by Kalyani Nair. The track is well laden with an optimistic string section and gripping rhythm. Praveen joins the feast with his soothing voice. The jazz styled drumming is engaging without overpowering the lead voices. The interludes are very much western classical and they have come out very well. 

Verdict: A highly original and competent debut from Sean Roldan
( 3.0 / 5.0 )


Vaayai Moodi Pesavum (aka) Vaaiyai Moodi Pesavum

Vaayai Moodi Pesavum (aka) Vaaiyai Moodi Pesavum is a Tamil movie with production by S Sashikanth, Varun Manian, direction by Balaji Mohan, cinematography by Soundararajan, editing by Abhinav Sunder Nayak. The cast of Vaayai Moodi Pesavum (aka) Vaaiyai Moodi Pesavum includes Dulquer Salman, Nazriya Nazim.