Sivappu (aka) Sivappu songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Feb 03,2014
1 of 2
Production: Muktha Govinth
Cast: Naveen Chandra, Rajkiran, Roopa Manjari, Satyaraj, Selvah, Thambi Ramaiya
Direction: Sathya Siva
Screenplay: Sathya Siva
Story: Sathya Siva
Music: N R Raghunanthan
Background score: N R Raghunanthan
Cinematography: Madhu Ambat
Dialogues: Sathya Siva
Editing: Kasi Viswanathan
Art direction: Deva
Stunt choreography: Ramesh
Dance choreography: Dinesh
Singers: Hariharan, Harish Raghavendra, Karthik, NR Raghunanthan, Shreya Ghoshal, Velmurugan
Lyrics: Kabilan, Snehan, Vairamuthu
PRO: Mounam Ravi
Distribution: Muktha Films SG Films Pvt. Ltd

Sivappu is an upcoming Tamil film starring Naveen Chandra, Rupa Manjari and Raj Kiran in the lead. The music for the film is composed by N.R.Raghunanthan. Here is an exclusive audio review of the album.

Sadu Kudu Vizhiye
Singers: Hariharan
Lyrics: Kabilan, Vairamuthu

The album begins with a feel good breezy melody supported well with string sections and keyboard. The lilting guitar strikes the right chord with ease and Hariharan performs par excellence.  The lyrics are well written as well. The violin solo in the midst of great symphony in the first interlude is another asset of the track.

Kothikuthu Manasu
Singers: Karthik, Shreya Ghoshal
Lyrics: Snehan

A peppy number with folk styled singing making it a fun a listen. Karthik and Shreya Ghoshal do a very good job generating a pleasant ambience and the interludes take the track forward with ease. The track is interestingly based on Carnatic Raagam Suddha Dhanyasi’s scale despite some liberal deviations.

Oru Kanam Vanam
Singers: Harish Raghavendra
Lyrics: Snehan

After a folksy number it is time for an emotional track in the midst of breezy orchestration. The main asset for the track is the percussions usage. Harish Raghavendra does a fine job with a tempered voice and the interludes do the much needful. Though the flute usage is very much of Harris Jayaraj style, the individuality is retained with respect to the complete track.

Kadavula Paaru
Singers: Velmurugan
Lyrics: Snehan

Now comes an out and out kuthu song carrying a purpose with its lyrics. The rhythm is fun filled and Velmurugan’s vocals are apt.

Orukanam Maanum Mannum
Singers: NR Raghunanthan
Lyrics: Snehan

The emotional track which made an appearance earlier comes again in a different vocalist’s voice.  However, the first version fares better than this recurred track.

Verdict: Sivappu is a neat and pleasant album from N.R.Raghunanthan.
( 2.5 / 5.0 )


Sivappu (aka) Sivappu

Sivappu (aka) Sivappu is a Tamil movie with production by Muktha Govinth, direction by Sathya Siva, cinematography by Madhu Ambat, editing by Kasi Viswanathan. The cast of Sivappu (aka) Sivappu includes Naveen Chandra, Rajkiran, Roopa Manjari, Satyaraj, Selvah, Thambi Ramaiya.