Thirudan Police (aka) Thirudan Police songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Jul 10,2014
1 of 2
Production: S.P.Charan, Selvakumar J
Cast: Aishwarya, Bala Saravanan, Dinesh, John Vijay, Naan Kadavul Rajendran, Nitin Satya
Direction: Caarthick Raju
Screenplay: Caarthick Raju
Story: Caarthick Raju
Music: Yuvan Shankar Raja
Background score: Yuvan Shankar Raja
Cinematography: Siddharth
Dialogues: Caarthick Raju
Editing: Praveen KL
Art direction: Jacki
Stunt choreography: Dilip Subarayan
Dance choreography: Dinesh
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar
PRO: Surech Chandra

Thirudan Police is being billed as an action-comedy film and stars Attakathi Dinesh and Ishwarya in the leads. Written and directed by Caarthick Raju, the project is jointly produced by Captial Film Works and Kenanya Films. Music is by Yuvan Shankar Raja.

Ennodu Vaa
Singers: Priyadarshini, Sathyan, Senthildas
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Experienced composers like Yuvan tend to develop a template/formula for similar situations they get to work on. So, all his celebration-folk songs sound similar in terms of arrangement and approach. On the lines of 'Vanamunna Uyaram kaatu' from Manmathan, 'Yammadi Aathadi' in Vallavan, this group song led by Sathyan is Shankar Mahadevan and Venkat Prabhu in one voice. The typical 4/4 tape strokes, nadhaswaram, trumpets in the interludes with newly tested mild harmoniums make this foot tapping number even more engaging than the lyrical part.

Singers: Naresh Iyer, Roshini
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Yuvan takes the credit for auto tuning one of the supremely talented carnatic voices in the industry. Naresh Iyer goes fully electronic for this pub-warp song. The computerized toning in the beginning is better comprehended in the first prelude of the song. The r&b rhythm programming adds the much needed pace. 

Singers: Hariharasudhan, Pooja
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Hariharasudhan's tailormade folk voice brings a new flavor to Yuvan’s rock duet. The electronic jives, echoing voice, reverbs on the instrumentation in the background are well etched out. The guitar-drum breakdown before chittaiswaram has Yuvan lifting the mood of the tune. 

Deivam Enbadhenna (I)
Singers: Haricharan
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Yuvan's strikes an emotional chord with a largely typical pathos number sung by Haricharan. With just the voice leading the melody, the flute and synth transitions are subtlety coined to stir up the emotions. Possibly a visual montage song that could work better on screen.

Deivam Enbadhenna (II)
Singers: SP Charan
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

SP Charan’s rendition seems to work better possibly due to strains of his father’s voice. Yuvan's ability to amalgamate emotions into a song is one of his greatest strengths as a composer.  

Verdict: A casual listen with nothing new to offer. But Yuvan's continued support to smaller budget movies needs applause.
( 2.25 / 5.0 )


Thirudan Police (aka) Thirudan Police

Thirudan Police (aka) Thirudan Police is a Tamil movie with production by S.P.Charan, Selvakumar J, direction by Caarthick Raju, cinematography by Siddharth, editing by Praveen KL. The cast of Thirudan Police (aka) Thirudan Police includes Aishwarya, Bala Saravanan, Dinesh, John Vijay, Naan Kadavul Rajendran, Nitin Satya.