Home > News Shots > Sports

By Dhiraj | May 04, 2019 11:05 PM

As the Royal Challengers Bangalore are taking on the Sunrisers Hyderabad at Bengaluru for their final game in the group stage, there was yet another no-ball controversy that happened during the game.

Umpire calls a wrong no ball and goes ahead with it

When Umesh Yadav was bowling the final over of the first innings, the 5th ball of the over was called as a no-ball by Umpire Nigel Llong. Soon after that, before Umesh Yadav bowled the free hit ball, the replay came up on the big screen where it showed that Umesh Yadav did have a part of his feet behind the line and hence it was a wrong call by the umpire.

After looking at the replay, Umesh Yadav went to the umpire to talk about it and Virat Kohli was also coming in from the boundary, but Nigel Llong just asked the bowler to carry on with it.

Even after realizing the error before the free hit was bowled, there was nothing done about it which was a surprise. Fans strongly feel that these kinds of errors should be avoided to keep the sport healthy.

This is the second time RCB have been on the receiving end of the wrong decision. Early on in the tournament, in the match against the Mumbai Indians, Malinga overstepped on the last ball of the innings which was not called and that could have changed the result in RCB's favor.