144 (aka) 144 songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Oct 30,2015
1 of 2
Production: Abi & Abi Pictures, Thirukumaran Entertainment
Cast: Ashok Selvan, Mirchi Shiva, Muniskanth, Oviya, Shruthi Ramakrishnan
Direction: Manikandan
Screenplay: Manikandan
Story: Manikandan
Music: Sean Roldan
Background score: Sean Roldan
Cinematography: Gurudev
Editing: Leo John Paul
144 is an upcoming Tamil comedy film directed by Manikandan and produced by C. V. Kumar, starring Shiva, Ashok Selvan, Oviya and Sruthi Ramakrishnan in the leading roles. Music has been scored by Sean Roldan.
Vinnai Theerkum Pillayada
Singers: Shenbagaraj Ganesalingam, Aravind Srinivas, Sathyaprakash, Sean Roldan
Lyrics: Kabilan
As the opening track to the album, this song provides a good introduction to what's in store for the listener. It begins with a boisterous naadaswaram playing along with the vocals, which is nothing we haven't heard before, yet something we'll never get tired of. 
Poove Pooviname
Singers: Chinmayi, Sean Roldan
Lyrics: Sean Roldan
This track begins on a mellow guitar riff that beautifully builds up, quite reminiscent of the sound we can associate with Rahman from the 90s, which lends it a dreamy and nostalgic feel. Sean Roldan and Chinmayi's voice blend effortlessly in this duet. This is one of those songs that you can just lie back and sink into.
Kenathakaanum Kenathakakaanum
Singers: Anthony Daasan, Malavika Sundar
Lyrics: Vivek
Sung by Anthony Daasan, this song features his signature style of narrative vocals that accompanies an energetic horn and percussion backing. Much like most other tracks on this album, Kenathakaanum Kenathakakaanum too offers you a throwback to the yesteryears and is sure to get you grinning silly to the lyrics even if it does not get you grooving.
Singers: Shenbagaraj Ganesalingam
Lyrics: Karaikudi Bharathi Ganesan
This brief track, running at just a minute and a half is a sombre interlude to the otherwise vibrant mood to the album. Sung by Shenbagaraj, it's a classic rendition, more on the lines of the ubiquitous prayer song. 
Singers: Hariharasudhan
Lyrics: Vivek
Definitely the most fun song on this album, Aagaa exudes a sort of charm and mischief, which could very well complement the visuals, especially given the film's a comedy. It's impossible to not fall in love with the infectious "Aaagaa..Aagaa.." chorus. The folk feel of the vocals dovetailed with a classic hip hop beat progression going on in the background has been done nicely.
Kaasu Kadacha Loose Pudikkum
Singers: Anthony Daasan, Gowrishankar, Susha
Lyrics: Sean Roldan
An out and out folk track with all the usual and expected elements, this track offers nothing new, especially since you've already heard Anthony Daasan dish out his fare with Kenathakaanum Kenathakakaanum. It gets you dancing on first listen, but is not something you'd remember down the line.


Verdict: An album laced with good energy and fun moments, but falls short of the expectations from a Sean Roldan fare.
( 2.5 / 5.0 )


144 (aka) 144

144 (aka) 144 is a Tamil movie with production by Abi & Abi Pictures, Thirukumaran Entertainment, direction by Manikandan, cinematography by Gurudev, editing by Leo John Paul. The cast of 144 (aka) 144 includes Ashok Selvan, Mirchi Shiva, Muniskanth, Oviya, Shruthi Ramakrishnan.