Velaiyilla Pattathari (aka) Velai Illa Pattathari songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Feb 14,2014
1 of 2
Production: Wundarbar Films
Cast: Amala Paul, Dhanush, Samuthirakani, Saranya Ponvannan
Direction: Velraj
Screenplay: Velraj
Story: Velraj
Music: Anirudh
Background score: Anirudh
Cinematography: Velraj
Dialogues: Velraj
Editing: M.V.Rajesh Kumar
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander, Dhanush, S.Janaki
Lyrics: Dhanush
Distribution: Yash Raj Films

Velaiyilla Pattathari is an upcoming film starring Dhanush and Amala Paul in the lead roles. The film is directed by debutant Velraj and the music is composed by the talented Anirudh Ravichander.  It is incidentally the 25th film for actor Dhanush. Here is an exclusive audio review of the album:

Velaiyilla Pattathari
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander
Lyrics: Dhanush

The album begins with a bang landing the listener into the world of hard rock and turntablism. The vocals are power packed and the electric guitars take the front seat for the composition. The rap styled singing blends brilliantly with the hard rock orchestration making it a winner!

Poo Indru Neeyaga
Singers: Dhanush
Lyrics: Dhanush

In contrast to the heavy sounding first track, a fantastic lilting melody from the earthly voice of Dhanush graces the listener next. The beautiful strings and guitars add to the brilliant composition and the vocals by Dhanush work wonders with unfaltering honesty. The interludes are woven prodigiously with layers of symphony and string section with ease.

Sunrise (Theme)
Singers: Instrumental

A wonderful instrumental theme with great harmonica and string section woven perfectly for the listener’s ears. Though the duration is short it makes a fantastic impact on the listener.

Uthungada Sangu
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander
Lyrics: Dhanush

The lilting mood of the album continues with another breezy melody in the voice of Anirudh himself. However, the breeziness blends with power packed chorus and supporting electric guitars making it an enjoyable listen. The lyrics give the song a funky touch and the interludes are interestingly done with electronica blended with kuthu beats and nadaswaram- typical of Anirudh’s compositions.

Ey Inga Paaru
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander
Lyrics: Dhanush

The slight melancholic mood from the previous track launches to a fun loving track laden with power packed orchestration and great usage of nadaswaram yet again. Anirudh’s casual singing adds great value to the composition featuring an interesting blend of rhythm section and bass guitar.

Smiling with The Pain
Singers: Instrumental

A melancholic instrumental track replete well with violin, piano, string section and mellifluous treble sections. The track carries with it a beautiful soul of the album and progresses like a great musical journey.

What a Karavad
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander, Dhanush
Lyrics: Dhanush

An out and out mass song with paced up rhythm section gives the much needed local flavor to this album. The track is essentially a rhythm based song and Anirudh pulls it off with easy confidence.  Dhanush adorns his poet hat and leaves you with some lines to ponder over as he and Anirudh sing well in unison. The usage of trumpets and dance mix techniques works well for this track. The spoken word segments should make for interesting viewing on screen.

Amma Amma
Singers: Dhanush, S.Janaki
Lyrics: Dhanush

The album comes to an end with a heart wrenching composition sung by Dhanush. The orchestration is flawlessly done suiting the mood of the track. Despite the ‘Moonu’ de-ja-vu it generates, the track pulls off with flying colors. It is a pleasant surprise to listen to the veteran singer S. Janaki’s voice in the track, giving it an earthly touch. What a voice !

Verdict: Velaiyilla Pattathari is a solid album from the Anirudh Ravichander- Dhanush combination. The duo strike again !
( 3.5 / 5.0 )


Velaiyilla Pattathari (aka) Velai Illa Pattathari

Velaiyilla Pattathari (aka) Velai Illa Pattathari is a Tamil movie with production by Wundarbar Films, direction by Velraj, cinematography by Velraj, editing by M.V.Rajesh Kumar. The cast of Velaiyilla Pattathari (aka) Velai Illa Pattathari includes Amala Paul, Dhanush, Samuthirakani, Saranya Ponvannan.