Madha Yaanai Koottam (aka) Madhayaanai Koottam songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : Nov 24,2013
1 of 2
Production: GV Prakash Kumar, K Venkatesh, NPKS Logu
Cast: Kathir, Oviya, Viji Chandrasekhar
Direction: Vikram Sugumar
Screenplay: Vikram Sugumar
Story: Vikram Sugumar
Background score: NR Ragunandhan
Cinematography: Rahul Dharman
Dialogues: Vikram Sugumaran
Editing: Kishore Te
Stunt choreography: Rock Prabhu
Dance choreography: Dheena
Singers: Anand Aravinakashan, GV Prakash, Hari Charan, Monali Tagore, Pushpavanam Kuppusamy, Thanjai Selvi, Thiuvudayan, Velmurugan, Vikram Sugumaran
Lyrics : Yegadesi
PRO: Nikhil
Distribution: GV Prakash Kumar Productions, JSK Film Corporation

Madha Yaanai Kootam is GV Prakash’s maiden production venture and is directed by newcomer Vikram Sugumaran and stars Kathir and Oviya in the lead with music by N.R. Raghunanthan.

Unnai Vanangatha
Singers: Velmurugan
Lyrics: Ekadesi

The melody here carries slight religious hymn like overtone but the percussion rhythm is strong enough to sustain the listener’s interest, so is Velmurugan’s singing where he sounds his best. The nativity of this song provides the listener of a taste of things to come in the rest of the album and in that sense it serves as a great album opener.

Kona Kondakari
Singers: GV Prakash
Lyrics: Ekadesi

A lively tune with an equally upbeat performance from G.V. Prakash. Again the composer rests the tune on a solid low end with a very excitable rhythm section belting out a danceable groove. There are brief appearances of flute and guitars but its mostly buried in the mix dominated by the percussions.

Kombu Oothil
Singers: Anand Aravinakashan, Pushpavanam Kuppusamy, Vikram Sugumaran
Lyrics: Ekadesi

A fast paced folk tune that changes personality midway to a mid-tempo romantic melody before picking up pace and finishing off proceedings with an assault of percussions. Raghunanthan’s choice of singers work well in favor of the tune as they bring out the right sense of occasion the song demands.

Enga Pora
Singers: Thanjai Selvi
Lyrics: Ekadesi
Raghunanthan comes up with a fresh take on a mother’s wailing, based on the popular pathos carnatic ragam Shivaranjani, with a rhythm arrangement and melody that could also work well for a romantic duet. But the mood is certainly glum and Tanjai Selvi’s singing is apt for the situation.
Yaro Yaro
Singers: Hari Charan, Monali Tagore
Lyrics: Ekadesi

When compared to the preceding tracks this one is slightly off-colour in terms of its soft natured sound. The melody, loosely based on Abheri, is decent which is amped up by good performances from the singers. The track could have hugely benefited from a catchy chorus or a recurring instrumental hook.

Singers: Thiuvudayan
Lyrics: Ekadesi

The album is back in familiar territory with this album closer sung by Thiuvudayan. The track is every bit immersed in native simplicity as Thiuvudayan narrates an emotional tale.

Verdict: Raw and rustic music with some catchy melodies.
( 2.5 / 5.0 )


Madha Yaanai Koottam (aka) Madhayaanai Koottam

Madha Yaanai Koottam (aka) Madhayaanai Koottam is a Tamil movie with production by GV Prakash Kumar, K Venkatesh, NPKS Logu, direction by Vikram Sugumar, cinematography by Rahul Dharman, editing by Kishore Te. The cast of Madha Yaanai Koottam (aka) Madhayaanai Koottam includes Kathir, Oviya, Viji Chandrasekhar.