Home > News Shots > Sports

By Dhiraj | Apr 29, 2019 11:52 PM

After winning the toss, R Ashwin decided to field first.

SRH win KXIP by 45 runs

SRH got off to a blazing start getting to 77 in 6 overs which is the highest score in this year's Powerplay. Saha who got his first opportunity this season at the top of the order did his job getting 28 off just 13 balls. Manish Pandey coming in at 3 didn't slow down the rate as he looked positive straight away. David Warner playing his last match of this year's IPL was determined to finish on a high as he was going strong from one end. Warner and Pandey added 82 runs before Pandey fell for a well made 36 from 25 balls to R Ashwin. Soon after that in the same over, R Ashwin picked up the important wicket of Warner for 81. Mohammad Nabi and Williamson got a few away as they finished with a massive total of 212/6 in the 20 overs.
Mujeeb Ur Rahman had a forgettable night as he conceded 66 of his 4 overs.

Chasing a big total, KXIP needed both their openers to fire, but Gayle lost his wicket early on. KL Rahul took his time early on as others around him tried to keep up with the scoring rate. Agarwal and Pooran played small cameos but was not enough as they KXIP kept losing their wickets and the required rate was rising. KL Rahul switched gears at the end but they were always behind the rate. Although he finished with 79 from 56 balls, KXIP never got close as they lost by 45 runs.

R Ashwin will gell that letting SRH get over 200 was not ideal. They really got outplayed today from SRH. The batting also didn't work today for KXIP and will hope to come back stronger.