Tamil Movies | Trailers | Comedy | Slideshows | Top Ten | Interviews
Movie News | Previews | Reviews | Music Review | Packages | Rising Stars
Articles | Classic Movies | Movie Personalities | Tech&Tech | Contact Us
Behindwoods Logo
Rajini, Kamal, Ajith, Vijay, Surya and Vikram honored by Tamil Nadu Government
By Behindwoods News Bureau.
September 06, 2007
Tamil Nadu government has announced its awards for excellence in cinema for the years 2005 and 2006 in various categories in a press announcement released today. The award honors full-length Tamil movies and includes various categories namely Actor – Male, Actor – Female, and Technicians.
Kamal Rajini Karunanidhi

Besides, the government has also pronounced awards in the category ‘Kalaithurai Vithagar’ for significant contribution for Tamil cinema. Awards for students of Television and Film institute also have been announced.

A panel of judges that included eminent personalities such as Justice Mohan, director S.P. Muthuraman, Sivakumar, Charuhaasan, Deva, and Sripriya scrutinized the movies.

The best movie category award for the year 2005 is shared by Chandramukhi and Gajini followed by Anniyan and Davamai Davamirundu for the next two honors. Superstar Rajinikanth qualified for the best actor in male lead award and Jyothika for the best actor in female lead award both for their respective performances for Chandramukhi. Vijay, Surya and Meera Jasmine are conferred with the special jury awards. Harris Jeyaraj won the best music director award for his rendition in movies such as Anniyan and Gajini.

For the year 2006, Veyil bagged the best film award followed by Paruthi Veeran and Thiruttu Payale for the second and third prizes. Kamal haasan and Priya Mani are declared the best actor in male and female lead respectively. Special jury awards are bagged by Karthi, Pakru, and Sandhya. Yuvan Shankar Raja bagged the best music director award.

Significant personalities who won the Kalaithurai Vithagar awards include Ajith Kumar the MGR award, Vikram the Sivaji Ganesan award, Vivek the Kalaivanar award, and Thangar Pachan the Raja sando award.

The awards and cash prizes will be bestowed upon the individuals by Chief Minister Karunanidhi in an event in Chennai hosted by the government soon, the announcement read.

behindwoods.com India Search
News Link
Sarathkumar resigns
More News
News Arrow Rajini, Kamal, Ajith, Vijay, and Vikram honored by Tamil Nadu Government
  News Arrow Lingusamy-Karthi project confirmed
    News Arrow Lingusamy-Karthi project confirmed
  News Arrow Kadavul’s darshan in November
  News Arrow DSP Raghavan is back!
  News Arrow Karthi’s getup in Aayirathil Oruvan
  News Arrow Guru and Sishyan face difficulties with heroines
  News Arrow Srikanth Deva’s dance number
  News Arrow The Star comes back with a number plate
  News Arrow The story behind Nayan's oust from Kuruvi
  News Arrow Ileana - all for friendship
  News Arrow ‘Mission Heroine’ begins again in Naan Kadavul
  News Arrow Sathum Podaathay a complete family thriller
  News Arrow Simbu stands, Sundar Succumbs
  News Arrow Sherin pins hopes on Bheema
News Arrow Sarathkumar resigns
  News Arrow After Aag RGV says Darling
News Arrow Kuruvi to get Vinayakar's blessing
  News Arrow Ammuvaaghiya Naan’s path to worldwide recognition
News Arrow Kandasamy on the lines of Sultan and Marudhanayagam
  News Arrow Kamal and Ajith bag the best actors award
News Arrow Simbu challenges Shankar?
  News Arrow Vil shifts hands from Suryah to Vijay
Everything about Tamil movies, Tamil Actors, Tamil Actresses, Tamil Cinema & Kollywood
Behindwoods.com 2004-2007 ; Privacy Policy ; Terms of Service ; For advertising contact behindw@behindwoods.com