Home > Tamil Movies > Tamil Cinema News

By |

Recently, the Tamil Nadu Film Directors' Association witnessed a leadership vaccum when director Bharathiraja resigned from the post of President of the association, citing the fact that he was unanimously elected for the post and this decision might facilitate new election process within the union.

Team Ameer withdraws candidatures from Tamil Nadu Director's union association elections

The association was earlier headed by veteran director Vikraman for four years. Meanwhile, the association is gearing up for elections on July 21, in which the team of directors headed by director Ameer will be contesting the elections for important posts.

The team witnessed a setback when the nomination of one of the members, director S.P. Jananathan, was rejected on the grounds of legal discrepancies in his candidature. This decision was taken by the election officials.

In order to challenge the decision, S.P. Jananathan had also filed a review petition, which was outrightly rejected by the officials.

In a recent press statement given by the team, it is noted that the team has decided to withdraw their respective candidatures in the elections, citing that the officials overseeing the elections are biased and will not conduct the polls in a free and fair manner. This statement also carried the signature of the team members.

The team headed by director Ameer includes directors Vetrimaaran, S.P. Jananathan, Samuthirakani, Balaji Sakthivel, Karupalaniappan,'Daya'Senthilkumar, Jagannath, Aslam, Nagendran, Jagadeesh, Balamuralivarman, Virumaandy and Thirumurugan.