Review By : Album Release Date : Dec 03,2016

Production: Prabhu Deva Studios Cast: Arvind Swamy, Hansika Motwani, Jayam Ravi Direction: Lakshman Screenplay: Lakshman Story: Lakshman Music: D Imman Background score: D Imman Cinematography: Soundararajan Editing: Anthony

Bogan is an upcoming action entertainer starring Jayam Ravi, Aravind Swamy and Hansika Motwani in lead roles.  Music for the film is composed by D.Imman.

Damaalu Dumeelu 

Singers: D.Imman and Anirudh Ravichander
Lyrics: G.Rakesh

An interesting number which claims to be a tribute for all Kollywood heroes is quite enjoyable with feisty trumpets, fun filled rhythm section and power packed vocals. The song sets the stage for an enjoyable album which acts like a duel between local drums and modern Hip-Hop beats. The chord progressions are quite appealing for a mass song of this sort.


Singers: D.Imman, Luksimi
Lyrics: Thamarai

Time for a typical Imman style melody with swift guitars, neat bass work and lovely vocals of Luksimi are the highlight of the song. The song has ominous yet lovely chord progression. It slowly gathers pace with high voltage rhythm section with an alternative rock twist. The interludes are adept with usage of nostalgic harmonica which takes the listener to a one way trip to the golden era of music.

Koodivittu Koodu

Singers: D.Imman, Jyoti Nooran, Aravind Swamy
Lyrics: Madhan Karky

A deep philosophical number from the powerful vocals of Aravind Swamy himself arrives next. The usage of mesmerizing strings and gripping rhythm suit the song’s theme quite well. Imman plays with his prime strengths of rendering folk numbers and he does with good perfection. The flavours of Nata Bhairavi are heard throughout which touch other realms as well. Jyoti Nooran does a good job with her peppy vocals for this number.

Yaaro Yaaro Avan

Singers: D.Imman, Vijay Prakash
Lyrics: Aravi

Vijay Prakash arrives with his forte of singing power packed numbers with a tinge of sadness and philosophy in the midst of tense rhythm arrangements. The song follows the classical raga Panthuvarali and the bass work follows the tune with amazing ease. Vijay Prakash makes no mistakes with his thunderous voice which also exhibits multiple shades of emotions. The duel between Sitar and electric guitar in the first interlude is quite appealing.

Vaarai Vaarai

Singers: D.Imman, Shankar Mahadevan and Shreya Ghoshal
Lyrics: Madhan Karky

A very interesting number with the superior vocals of Shankar Mahadevan and Shreya leads this composition and this song also has the ominous feel with the so called classical touch. With the shades of Hindustani Raaga Puriya Dhansri, the song travels to far many realms in the terms of experimentation and arrangements. Shankar Mahadevan joins this feast with his own style but the song doesn’t  have any changeovers which would have sounded much better.

Senthooran (reprise)

Singers: D.Imman and Inno Genga
Lyrics: Thamarai and Inno Genga

The most melodious song of the album arrives in the reprise form from the vocals of D.Imman himself and he gives an innocent feel to the entire composition. The orchestration is quite minimalistic with piano touches and very mild rhythm base. However, the punch of original is missing in this version.

Spooky Bogan 

A swift yet fun filled theme featuring a haunting whistle as the lead and digital sequencing is quite gripping and gives the album the additional punch required. Despite the de-ja-vu of Imman’s earlier compositions, it manages to strike the right chord.

Verdict: Bogan manages to entertain with its own share of melodies and paced number numbers. However, much more novelty is expected from a competent composer like D.Imman.
( 2.75 / 5.0 )


Bogan (aka) Bogun

Bogan (aka) Bogun is a Tamil movie with production by Prabhu Deva Studios, direction by Lakshman, cinematography by Soundararajan, editing by Anthony. The cast of Bogan (aka) Bogun includes Arvind Swamy, Hansika Motwani, Jayam Ravi.