Home > News Shots > Sports

By S Vikram | Dec 19, 2019 01:03 PM

While IPL 2020 Auction has grabbed all the expectations of IPL fans, we present you the 7 wonders in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL).

7 IPL wonders listed ahead of IPL 2020 Auction. CSK wins

In the 12-years of IPL, we have seen a lot of dramas, thrillers and unexpected moments. The following is the list of 7 wonders which interestingly coincides with Jersey no of CSK Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

IPL Trophy Wonder

The million-dollar question for all Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) fans during every IPL season would be, "Will RCB win its 1st IPL trophy this year?". Ironically the first wicket of IPL was taken by Zaheer Khan for RCB while playing against KKR in 2008 opening match.

Aussie Wonder

Australian Players have been a great asset of IPL to all the franchises. Shane Watson is the only player in the history of IPL who have won two players of the series representing the same team Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2008 and 2011.

IPL Auction Wonder

The very first auction of IPL in 2008 turned the spotlight on Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MSD) who is the first player in IPL to grab the highest bidding price (1.5 Million USD). That was the beginning of 'CSK' and 'Yellove' emotion.

Suspension Wonder

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) are the first two teams to have played first finals in IPL history. Ironically, they are also the first two teams to be suspended for alleged match-fixing. CSK and RR were banned from IPL in 2016 and 2017.

CSK Champion Wonder

CSK is the only team in the history of IPL to have won two back to back IPL trophies (2010 and 2011). It remains to be an unbeatable record till date. CSK grabbed the 3rd IPL trophy in 2018.

IPL 'Final' Wonder

Out of the 12 editions of IPL, CSK has gone to finals 8 times which is the most by any IPL team in its history. Note: If CSK's suspension years (2010 and 2011) is subtracted, CSK went through the finals 8 times out of 10 editions.

CSK 'Team' Wonder

Though CSK has won 3 IPL trophies and 5 runners up titles, none of the players was named as the player of the series in any IPL editions until 2019.  As CSK fans always say CSK always believed in Team effort than an individual player.

Eventually, CSK appeared 5 times in the 7 wonders of IPL, thus winning the list by a huge margin.

அரசியல், விளையாட்டு, நாட்டுநடப்பு, குற்ற சம்பவங்கள், வர்த்தகம், தொழில்நுட்பம், சினிமா, வாழ்க்கை முறை என பலதரப்பட்ட சுவாரஸ்யமான செய்திகளை தமிழில் படிக்க இங்கு கிளிக் செய்யவும்