Review By : Album Release Date : Mar 20,2016

Production: Kalaipuli S Thanu Cast: Amy Jackson, J Mahendran, Raadhika Sarathkumar, Samantha, Sunaina, Vijay Direction: Atlee Screenplay: Atlee Story: Atlee Music: GV Prakash Kumar Background score: GV Prakash Kumar Cinematography: George C Williams Editing: Antony L Ruben Art direction: Muthuraj

Theri brings together Vijay and GV Prakash again after Thalaivaa, for one of the year’s most anticipated projects. This Atlee directorial will have 7 songs including 1 theme track.

Jithu Jilladi
Singers: Thenisai Thendral Deva, Balachandran
Lyrics: Rokesh

Jithu Jilladi is a well spelt out introduction track that is dominated by Deva’s voice. This racy kuthu number has a subtle rhyme scheme. Be it the lack of karaoke tones or the spelt out lyrics that talk against corruption or about the life of a police man and so much more, this number will be regarded as a model cop song for generations to come. The solo music at the end of the track suggests that it may showcase Vijay’s dancing prowess to its maximum.

En Jeevan
Singers: Hariharan, Saindhavi, Vaikom Vijayalakshmi
Lyrics: Na Muthukumar, R Thiyagarajan (Sanskrit)

Though the track is pensive to begin with, it ups its speed with time. GV Prakash has smashed a recipe that will stand out as a song of love like Taj Mahal stands as the symbol of love.  This track is soulful, beautiful and the Sanskrit slokas rendered by Vaikom Vijayalakshmi in the middle breathes life into it. This song is loaded with emotions and seems to be a viral epic on its way.  It is so high on emotions that it makes us look back on some of the good memories we might have encountered till now.

Eena Meena Teeka
Singers: Uthara Unni Krishnan, GV Prakash Kumar
Lyrics: Pa Vijay, Arunraja Kamaraj (RAP)

This track has a sound curve attached to it. It starts off with a bang from a racy monologue and gets adorable with the flow. It’s a cute dad-daughter song that showcases the relationship between the duo. Given it’s package, this could be more of a visual based extravaganza.  To sum it up, this is a dad being in the shoes of a mother scenario song.

Chella Kutti
Singers: Vijay, Neethi Mohan
Lyrics: Kabilan

The tune offers a great transition between two genres and is an out and out love duet. Chella Kutti looks to be an instant hit number for both critics and listeners. The track is sprinkled with an overdose of love and mush and has classic beats as its backbone.

Singers: Bombay Jayashri
Lyrics: Pulavar Pulamaipithan

This song is preposed lullaby number that is high on emotions. You will hit play with Thaimai when you’re missing someone you love, because this is loaded with melodrama and melancholy on an even base. Bombay Jayashree’s voice will make you yearn for your loved ones and will force you to pick up the damn phone and call your parents to tell them how much you love them!

Singers: T Rajender, GV Prakash Kumar, Sonu Kakkar
Lyrics: Kabilan

Raangu is racy and fast. This is one of Vijay’s usual high on energy tones where he may fight and overcome evil along with some swift dancing moves.  Be it the lovey-dovey lyrics or the vintage base, the song will be on your track list when you want to hit weight lifting or house cleaning(pun-intended).

Dub Theri Step
Singer: Arunraja Kamaraj
Lyrics: Arunraja Kamaraj

It is a loud and massy prologue of the kind of fan-following Vijay has procured till now. Be it the chorus or the loud music in the end, this song offers a sneak peek of what to expect from the movie. In short it’s a song that will set your blood pressure soaring!

GV Prakash and Atlee combination after a very successful outing in Raja Rani have shown that they are an addition to musically successful director-music director pair with Theri.

Verdict: An amalgamation of some mass and class tunes, tailor made for Vijay!
( 3.25 / 5.0 )


Theri (aka) Therii

Theri (aka) Therii is a Tamil movie with production by Kalaipuli S Thanu, direction by Atlee, cinematography by George C Williams, editing by Antony L Ruben. The cast of Theri (aka) Therii includes Amy Jackson, J Mahendran, Raadhika Sarathkumar, Samantha, Sunaina, Vijay.