Review By :

Production: Lyca Productions Cast: Nayanthara, Rajinikanth Direction: AR Murugadoss Screenplay: AR Murugadoss Music: Anirudh Ravichander Background score: Anirudh Ravichander Cinematography: Santhosh Sivan Editing: A. Sreekar Prasad Art direction: T Santhanam

1. Chumma Kizhi
Singers: SP Balasubrahmanyam, Anirudh Ravichander
Lyrics: Vivek

Chumma Kizhi was the first single to be released from the much expected "Darbar" album. Following a brief musical interlude with heavy percussions, the song's starting lines open with 'Chumma Kizhi' dialogue in Thalaivar's voice, and that kick starts a song that carries sensationally upbeat music. The lyrics by Vivek are dripping with Rajini-ism, and the power-packed tune is enriched by Maxwell's Trumpet and Trombone. The percussions by Dipesh Varma are top-notch, pulling you into 'Marana Mass' Rajini mode!


2. Tharam Maara
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander, Arjun Chandy
Lyrics: Vivek

Tharam Maara is a romantic Thalaivar-in-love song, with bubbling music and sprightful lyrics. The lyrics penned down by Vivek alludes to the joyful and lovely nature that actor Rajinikanth usually exhibits when he enacts romantic sequences. Anirudh and Arjun Chandy's expressive singing brings to life the youthful tune of the song. The music of Tharam Maara Single is breezy and sets a pleasant mood with Keyboard and Synth dominating the base tunes.


3. Thalaivar Theme
Music: Anirudh Ravichander

Thalaivar Theme in this album is an all-rounder tune. The tune was introduced in the motion poster, and it strikes hard to implement the strength and power of Rajinikanth's character Aaditya Arunachalam. The theme has shades of Thani Vazhi and Chumma Kizhi, making it indeed a 'Thalaivar' theme.


4. Dumm Dumm
Singer: Nakash Aziz
Lyrics: Vivek

The song opens with a chorus that sends out wedding vibes. In the charming voice of Nakash Aziz, Dumm Dumm is glorified with percussions that accentuate the festive mood, and the guitar tunes by Keba Jeremiah adds a new touch of zest to the scintillating music set by Anirudh. From what we can expect from the lyric video, the song is sure to be enriched by the expressive Rajinikanth-Nayanthara pair.


5. Villain Theme
Music: Anirudh Ravichander

Villain theme set in a 8-beat rhythm has tunes with a shade of mystery to it. The track repetitively brings on the same notes and one of the highlights of this antagonist theme is that it uses some elusive instruments such as Mandolin, Bouzouki, and Oud.


6. Thani Vazhi
Singers: Rap by Yogi B, Anirudh Ravichander, Shaktisree Gopalan
Lyrics: Yogi B, Senthuzhan, Syan

Thani Vazhi is indeed a smashing song that begins with a power-packed rap by Yogi B. Sung in the stirring voices of Anirudh and Shaktisree Gopalan, Thani Vazhi asserts the character and the prowess of the impressive cop Aaditya Arunasalam. The music has the exact amount of energy that is required to introduce Rajinikanth's character in the backdrop of remarkable percussion score and keyboard tunes. Along with Yogi B, Senthuzhan and Syan have penned down the invigorating lyrics.

Verdict: Anirudh packs interesting tunes for every ‘Rajini’ mode, expect the visuals to add more punch!!


3 ( 3.0 / 5.0 )



Entertainment sub editor

பிரேக்கிங் சினிமா செய்திகள், திரை விமர்சனம், பாடல் விமர்சனம், ஃபோட்டோ கேலரி, பாக்ஸ் ஆபிஸ் செய்திகள், ஸ்லைடு ஷோ, போன்ற பல்வேறு சுவாரஸியமான தகவல்களை தமிழில் படிக்க இங்கு கிளிக் செய்யவும்      

Darbar (aka) Dharbar

Darbar (aka) Dharbar is a Tamil movie with production by Lyca Productions, direction by AR Murugadoss, cinematography by Santhosh Sivan, editing by A. Sreekar Prasad. The cast of Darbar (aka) Dharbar includes Nayanthara, Rajinikanth.