Vaayai Moodi Pesavum Album Preview, Vaayai Moodi Pesavum


‘First Listen’ is a new feature where Behindwoods score an exclusive listening session of an album ahead of its scheduled release to offer the audiences an insight into what to expect from the soundtrack.

It’s not uncommon for an artist to strive for acceptance with their debut album, but in ‘Vaayai Moodi Pesavum’ Sean Roldan rises from the underground and above his brand of folk rock with a debut that’s an ambitious genre bending creative course.

The composer is thrust out of his comfort zone almost immediately in the electronic shout-along title track written by the director. He really announces himself with 'Kadhal Ara Onnu Vizhundchu', a highly accessible blues jam topped off with a crunching riff and a nice long uninterrupted solo.

Sean spills his bag of ideas all over the album. From bare bones ballads to proficient instrumentals, he leaves you with a lot to choose from, including a disorienting ‘dubstep symphony’ ironically titled ‘The Sound of Silence’.

Singers such as Haricharan, Alaap Raju, Pradeep and Kalyani Nair deliver personal performances of Muthamil and Karky’s words as Sean works overtime under the surface of the vocal melodies  with his arrangements and elsewhere fully absorbed by the instrumentals ‘Mr.Fix-it’ and ‘Beedhiya Kelappa’.

Talking to Behindwoods about the album Sean says, “The idea behind the music was not to create ‘songs’. It was to create a musical narrative around the movie. These themes became songs. The director has been part of the music process with the attitude of a music fan rather than a director. He has also played a great role in the way the album has turned out.”   

Director Balaji Mohan held Sean Roldan in high regard by saying, “I had particular genres in mind that required a versatile composer and Sean Roldan has proven that he’s a world class musician with the way he’s pulled it off. The song composing was an organic process where the tunes emerged out of impromptu guitar jam sessions. The variety of music on offer goes well with the script.”

After graduating with distinction with his High School Musical in Kadhalil Sodhappuvadhu Yeppadi, Balaji Mohan gets adventurous here with a soundtrack that’s quite the mouthful.

Vaayai Moodi Pesavum audio releases on March 14th under the label of Think Music.

*Track List*

1. Shut Up! Vaaya Moodu! Pesadhe!
    Singers: Sean Roldan, Balaji Mohan
    Lyrics : Balaji Mohan

2. Kadhal Ara Onnu Vizundhuchu
    Singers: Sean Roldan, Shakthishree Gopalan
    Lyrics: Muthamil

3. Mr. Fix-it Theme
    Instrumental by Chennai Strings

4. Podhum Nee Ini Varundhadhe
    Singers : Haricharan
    Lyrics : Muthamil

5. Udaigiren Udaigiren
    Singers: Alaap Raju
    Lyrics : Karky

6. Beedhiya Kelappa - Jazz theme

7. The Sound Of Silence – Dubstep Symphony
    Instrumental by Chennai Strings

8. Maatraparavai – The Song Bird of Change
    Singers : Pradeep, Kalyani Nair
    Lyrics : Karky

Respond to jigdesh@behindwoods.com
Behindwoods is not responsible for the views of columnists.



This page hosts the views of the authors of the column. The views are generally about films, movie reviews, movie news, songs, music, film actors and actresses, directors, producers, cinematographers, music directors, and all others that contribute for the success or failure of a film. People looking for movies online, movie reviews, movie analysis, public response for a movie, will find this page useful.