Home > News Shots > Tamil Nadu

By Dharani | May 14, 2020 10:13 PM

The Tamil Nadu government has revised testing and quarantine guidelines for people entering Tamil Nadu from other States or countries and for those who are travelling between districts within the state.

Tamilnadu Govt Issues Testing and Quarantine Guidelines for Travellers

Inter-district travellers:

Those travelling between districts in Tamil Nadu must undergo home quarantine for 14 days. They will be tested for COVID-19 only if they display symptoms such as high fever, cough or cold.

Inter-state travellers:

Testing is mandatory for those entering Tamil Nadu from other States or Union Territories. If they test positive for COVID-19, they will be admitted to a hospital and treated there. If they test negative, they shall undergo home quarantine for 14 days.

Those entering Tamil Nadu from hotspots such as Delhi, Gujarat and Maharashtra will be taken to a hospital for treatment if they test positive. For those people whose test results come back negative, they shall undergo institutional quarantine for seven days. If they don’t exhibit symptoms after the seven days, they can be sent to their home for home quarantine or continue in governmet quarantine facility for another seven days.

People returning from abroad:

All those arriving in Tamil Nadu from abroad will be tested. If they test positive for COVID-19, they will be taken to a hospital for treatment.

If they test negative, they will be housed in institutional quarantine or hotels for seven days. After seven days, they will be subject to another COVID-19 test. If this test comes back positive, they will be shifted to a hospital. If that test comes back negative, they will be asked to place themselves in home quarantine for 14 days.

Exceptions to special categories:

Four categories of travellers are however exempted from undergoing institutional quarantine norms. They can opt for home quarantine or hospital quarantine after initial testing if they submit an undertaking that they will get themselves admitted in a hospital if their test results come back as positive.

The four exempted categories of travellers are:

1 - People with terminal illnesses and those requiring immediate medical attention in a hospital.

2 - Pregnant women

3 - Persons who are to attend a funeral or death rituals of an immediate family member

4 - Persons who are above 75 years of age and require assistance

People from the above categories must submit a request for exemption in advance to the authorities. They will be made to undergo a medical examination to confirm the status.

அரசியல், விளையாட்டு, நாட்டுநடப்பு, குற்ற சம்பவங்கள், வர்த்தகம், தொழில்நுட்பம், சினிமா, வாழ்க்கை முறை என பலதரப்பட்ட சுவாரஸ்யமான செய்திகளை தமிழில் படிக்க இங்கு கிளிக் செய்யவும்