Home > News Shots > Sports

By Dhiraj | May 10, 2019 11:06 PM

CSK won their 12th toss of the season as they decided to field first.

CSK win the Delhi Capitals and make it to the finals

The Delhi Capitals coming out to bat were not able to string together partnership as they kept losing wickets. A lot was expected out of Dhawan as the senior player to lead the way in the high-pressure game but he didn't deliver as he fell in the powerplay for 18. Colin Munro who came out at number 3 threatened to get a big score but was not able to make use of the start he got as he fell for 27. Iyer fell for 13 as the spinners strangled the Delhi Capitals in the middle over. Rishabh Pant was the only one who could do any damage at the back end, but he didn't get any support from the other end and got out for 38 from 25 balls trying to go for the big shot. They got 16 of Jadeja's last over and Delhi went to 147 but it was a below par score.

Coming out for the chase, Faf Du Plessis after a slightly cautious start took on the bowling attack and made it look very easy. Shane Watson who was looking to get back into form was taking his time as Faf Du Plessis was going well at the other end. The pair put on 81 runs which really put them in a great position to win this game. One Faf Du Plessis got out for 50 from 39 balls, Shane Watson got going and started to play the big shots. He got to his 50 as well of 31 balls before getting out. From there it was always going to be easy for CSK with the batting they have as they won with one over remaining.

The Delhi Capitals have been great in the tournament with the inexperienced team they have, but today was not their day. The CSK, on the other hand, showed their experience and have got to the finals once. They will face the Mumbai Indians for the fourth time this season. So far MI has won the 3 encounters and will be interesting to see who does better in the big Finals.
The team which wins the finals will get their 4th trophy and will lead the tied race between CSK and MI who have 3 titles each as of now.