Home > News Shots > India

By Vinershea | May 23, 2019 06:35 PM

After a clean sweep by the BJP, hence its proved that the NDA government will retain the crown for the next five years with Narendra Modi at the helm as the Prime Minister. 

From boxer Vijender Singh, Rajinikanth to Hema Malini, Check how they

During this election, one thing which everyone noticed  was the number of new entries into political parties, especially those already known due to their contributions in sports and cinema. There are veterans like Shatrughan Sinha, Hema Malini, Kirron Kher as well as new members like Urmila Matondkar, Vijender Singh, Sunny Deol and Gautam Gambhir.

Not forgetting our very own Megastar Rajinikath took to social media and congratulated PM Narendra Modi. He wrote, "Respected dear Narendra Modi ji..hearty congratulations ...You made it !!! God bless," Rajinikanth wrote on his Twitter account. 

Coming to the political leaders who scored in this election are;

- Hema Malini: She is all set to retain her Mathura seat in Uttar Pradesh. She establishing a huge lead of 2,78,629 votes over her nearest rival Kunwar Narendra Singh of Rashtriya Lok Dal. Soon after the win, she also congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah for the stupendous performance of the BJP.

-Sunny Deol: BJP's favourite star candidate, Sunny Deol is currently leading by over 54 per cent votes from Punjab's Gurdaspur constituency. He is being trailed by Sunil Kumar Jakhar of Congress.

- Urmila Matondkar: She was contesting from the Mumbai North constituency, she is pitted against veteran BJP leader Gopal Shetty. The 44-year-old actress, who joined the Congress in March, is currently trailing by 4,18, 000+ votes against Shetty.

- Vijender Singh: He who joined the Congress in the Capital in the run-up to the elections, is trailing in South Delhi from where he is contesting. The boxer is not progressing in the political race and is trailing by 3,96,000+ votes.

- Gautam Gambhir : Former Indian cricketer, who is Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate from East Delhi, has also taken over from his rivals with over 52 per cent votes to his name. He is being trailed by Arvinder Singh Lovely of Congress.

- Jaya Prada: According to media reports, Samajwadi Party’s Azam Khan has won the throne against Jaya Prada by 1,40,000 votes in Uttar Pradesh's Rampur.

- Kirron Kher: She was contesting elections this year from Chandigarh, and has taken a major lead over her Congress counterpart Pawan Kumar Bansal by bagging 47 per cent votes.