Home > Music Reviews
kumki-music-review KUMKI MUSIC REVIEW
Review by : Kaushik L.M

Starring: Vikram Prabhu, Lakshmi Menon
Direction: Prabu Solomon
Music: D Imman
Production: N Subash Chandrabose
Lyrics: Yugabharathi

After the tremendous impact that Mynaa created, Prabu Solomon has teamed up with Imman again for this movie which marks the debut of Vikram Prabhu, son of veteran actor Prabhu. Touted as a visual treat and a wild love story, this film had its audio launch today. Onto the music review of this much expected flick.

Yella Oorum …  
Benny Dayal and D. Imman

This song talks about men who take care of elephants. As you must know, the hero is one such caretaker. The percussion and string patterns of this song are different and classy. Benny’s vocals create the necessary connect with the listeners.

Onnum Puriyala ...
D. Imman

The guitar has a prominent presence in this song. Imman has tried to make it very soulful with his rendition while there is a very cute chorus before the 2nd stanza. The percussion picks up at certain points to add some rhythm to the song.

Ayayayoo Aananthamey …  

From the moment, the song starts, it soars. It indeed provides happiness as the song’s title says. Haricharan has tried a different style of singing and it has paid off. There is a grand orchestra of strings before the first stanza and the ‘dilrupa’ makes a cameo appearance all through the song. The way the song ends with a symphony of strings is again superb. Will be added to the list of favorites soon. CLASS.

Sollitaley Ava Kaadhala ...
K.J. Ranjith and Shreya Ghoshal

A soulful duet which has some ‘Mynaa’ hangover and the percussions have been packaged like a Hindi romantic duet. Both the singers contribute to the melody of the song and there are some nice flute instrumentals. The basic tune of the song is sure to strike the right chord.

Soi Soi ...
Magizhini Manimaaran

After a string of melodies, comes this scorching fast paced number. The ‘sangu’/‘vuvuzela’ like instrumental and the percussions set the pace while the singing is typically energetic like other fast songs. This one will remind you of ‘Aadungada Machan’ from Naadodigal.

Nee Yeppo Pulla …  
Alphons Joseph

This is a mellow pathos number by Alphons Joseph (of ‘Aaromale’ fame), whose range in the high pitch is amazing. The string instrumentals add to the dramatic mood of the song while the percussions are mostly kept understated. There is a subtle rock touch given, which impresses.

A Lady and the Violin

This is the female version of ‘Ayayayoo Aananthamey’ with striking violin instrumentals as the title says. Other than that, the guitar and some sudden spurts of percussions support the vocals.

Verdict: The Imman - Prabu Solomon combo has come up with another huge winner. There are tasteful melodies spread across the album while one nice foot tapping number is there as well, in the mix. If the visuals rock as expected, these songs will become cult-like.

Tags : Vikram Prabhu, Prabu Solomon, D Imman, Kumki Music Review, Kumki Songs Review, Kumki Audio Review, Kumki Music Rating
Everything about Tamil movies, Tamil Actors, Tamil Actresses, Tamil Cinema & Kollywood
Behindwoods.com © 2004-2010 ; Privacy Policy ; Terms of Service