Vaaimai (aka) Vaimai songs review


Review by : Behindwoods Review Board
Album Release Date : May 05,2015
1 of 2
Production: S. Mani, S. Tamizhini
Cast: Banu, Goundamani, Manoj Bharathirja, Poornima Baghyaraj, Prithvi Pandiarajan, Ramki, Rose, Shanthanu Baghyaraj, Thyagarajan, Urvasi
Direction: A Senthil Kumar
Screenplay: A Senthil Kumar
Story: A Senthil Kumar
Music: Auggath
Background score: Auggath
Cinematography: Rasa Mathi
Dialogues: A Senthil Kumar
Editing: Antony
Art direction: Jaykumar
PRO: Nikhil Murugan
Distribution: Open Theatre Min Max Movies

Vaaimai is an upcoming drama written and directed by A.Senthil Kumar. The film boasts of an ensemble cast which includes Shanthanu Bhagyaraj, Goundamani, Thiagarajan, Ramki and Muktha Bhanu along with others. Music for the film is by Auggath.

Vaimaiye Vellum
Singers: Vijay Prakash
Lyrics: Vairamuthu

A patriotic song mellifluously arranged. Vijay Prakash and the chorus evoke a sense of unity through passionate singing. The signature riff in the background throughout the song, composed rhythms and the strings arrangement make this neatly drafted song totally fresh.

Kanpadum Un Mugam
Singers: Alka Yagnik
Lyrics: Vairamuthu

A lullaby from Alka Yagnik's dissolved Tamil does manage to stir the compassionate motherly love from a steadily paced pathos. Sober instruments like Shenai back the song with the synth based four notes from the start till the end becoming a little over noticeable. If visuals could match the song, be ready to cry out.

Singers: blaaze, Vijay Prakash
Lyrics: Vairamuthu

The most experimented track from the album, certainly not aimed for the charts is high on dark electronica, rap, percussions and bass lines. Blaaze's political word play and Vijay Prakash's abstract singing send quivers.

Boomiye Samiye
Singers: Sadhana Sargam
Lyrics: Vairamuthu

The track feels like a stretched version of a bit song, possibly due to the director's briefing. The tune, though managing to sustain the right mood with Sadhana Sargam's poignant delivery, offers little scope for instrumentation.

Hey Nadu
Singers: SP Balasubramaniam
Lyrics: Vairamuthu

The mighty SPB does it in style, like for a Rajini song with utmost energy and throw. A rock song dominated by nice lyrics and flawless temperament.

Verdict: Debutant Auggath packs in a neat surprise.
( 2.5 / 5.0 )


Vaaimai (aka) Vaimai

Vaaimai (aka) Vaimai is a Tamil movie with production by S. Mani, S. Tamizhini, direction by A Senthil Kumar, cinematography by Rasa Mathi, editing by Antony. The cast of Vaaimai (aka) Vaimai includes Banu, Goundamani, Manoj Bharathirja, Poornima Baghyaraj, Prithvi Pandiarajan, Ramki, Rose, Shanthanu Baghyaraj, Thyagarajan, Urvasi.